Resolution Problem continues with new ati 10.1 Drivers

6 replies [Last post]
David32
David32's picture
Offline
Joined: 09/01/2006
Posts: 522

Hey guys, well I couldn't find the post I had left on the older forums. But I had mention this back when ati came out with 9.10 and 9.11 and now the same is happening with the new 10.1 drivers

when I install the drivers, the resolution maximum is set to 1024x768 when in fact the max rez is 1680x1050. Yes I have download the latest drivers from the Viewsonic page for my monitor. The only way I can get the resolution to work is if I revert to 9.9 drivers if I do an system restore to an earlier date. Yea I remember Tivon told me to post a thread in the ATI forums but I never got any help what so ever.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v628/KoRnPimp/101drivers.jpg

d3uS2029
d3uS2029's picture
Offline
Joined: 03/20/2003
Posts: 291

1.) Make sure you have the LATEST .net framework installed.

2.) Do a windows update

3.) Try this in the exact order. It MIGHT work...

* Completely uninstall ATI Cat drivers (driver sweeper or another program) Then uninstall your 4800 series card from Device Manager.

* Restart your PC

* Let Windows install the default Windows driver.

* Restart your PC again

* Finally Download and install ONLY the 10.1 Driver and NOT the catalyst suite with the other software included.

* If it works, Then install the rest of the software.

ASUS are picky monitors. How are you connected? VGA? DVI? HDMI?

:.: Intel i7 920 @ 3.8Ghz :.: 12GB Corsair XMS3 @ 1704Mhz :.: ASUS P6T V2 Deluxe :.: ASUS 5870EAH :.: 120GB Vertex 2 (OS) :.: 120GB OCZ Agility (Games) :.: 2x WD Black 2TB (Data) :.: Zalman 850w PSU :.: Lite-On Blu-Ray Burner :.: HP w2207h LCD :.:

David32
David32's picture
Offline
Joined: 09/01/2006
Posts: 522

Okay let me give that a try, and I'm connected through DVI

d3uS2029
d3uS2029's picture
Offline
Joined: 03/20/2003
Posts: 291

ok hope that works. is it straight DVI or is it connected with a dongle?

David32
David32's picture
Offline
Joined: 09/01/2006
Posts: 522

OMG! Finally did the trick, sorry for the late reply it just I hadn't had time, but thanks so much DeusEx.

I must say I think driver sweeper must of done the trick. In my past attempts I have only remove any ATI drivers under the control panel, which didn't really work because as soonest I install the new drivers, the screen will set to 1024x768.

d3uS2029
d3uS2029's picture
Offline
Joined: 03/20/2003
Posts: 291

sweet! im really glad i helped you. As many hardware forums that are out there on the net. There is hardly ever solutions to peoples PC problems. They kinda kinda go away or people learn to live with the problem.

Glad i could help though :)

Tiv
Tiv's picture
Offline
Joined: 08/12/2009
Posts: 3584

After I uninstall my ATI drivers I manually look for the install folders and delete them. Then reboot. I guess after using ATI cards for the last few years I've figured them out pretty well enough to get all the crap out before installing new drivers. Nvidia drivers didn't use to give me as many headaches, but they are not perfect either.

Sorry to hear that the ATI / AMD forums didn't help you.

I sleep fine at night knowing we are banning people who deserve it.  Tivon
Don't test my skills, I was trained by myself! Check out my Gaming Videos!