Overclocking an AMD Phenom II X6 1100T

7 replies [Last post]
west0779rw
Offline
Joined: 02/23/2012
Posts: 3

Well I have succeeded in over clocking my AMD Phenom II X6 1100T from it's standard 3.310 GHz to 4.310 GHz. I'm using a Corsair H100 with 4 120mm fans in a push pull configuration. I have a bus speed of 200MHz, a CPU multiplier of 21.5, and set my Vcore to 1.525 volts. I have added my 3Dmark Vantage link for proof. I would like if any one has any recommendations on how to get it to 4.4GHz.

http://3dmark.com/3dmv/3914370

MY System Specs
CASE - Cooler Master HAF 932
MOBO - ASUS Crosshair IV Extreme
CPU - AMD Phenom II X6 1100T 3.3GHz (OC 4.3GHz) CPU Cooler-Corsair H100 4 120mm Fans
RAM - Corsair Dominator 1333MHz (OC 1600MHz) 4X4GB 16GB with Dominator AirFlow Cooler
GPU - XFX Radeon HD 5870 X2 in a Crossfire Configuration (OC GPU Clock 875MHz) (OC Memory Clock 1275MHz)
PSU - ENERMAX REVOLUTION85+ 1020Watts (peak 1120Watts)
SSD - OCZ Agility 3 120GB SATA 3
HDD - X3 Western Digital 1TB Black SATA 3

Chaosrender
Offline
Joined: 10/05/2011
Posts: 6

I have the 1090t (3.2ghz) and i haven't been able to get stable at 4.0 but haven't pushed my volts that high. Right now I have it at 3.8ghz with a Xigmatek Gaia SD1283 with push pull, My question is it safe to push the volts for long periods of time at 1.525? I was afraid I would burn it up at 1.5. One problem may be is I just used the crappy thermal paste that came with my cooler cause I lost my tube of artic silver 5 and haven't bought any more lol.

My specs
Amd 1090t 3.2ghz @ 3.8ghz
gigabyte 970A-umd3
gskill ripjaw 8gb 1333 9-9-9-24 (8-8-8-22)
seagate barracuda 500gb

Cpu: AMD Phenom II 1090 at 3.9ghz Cooled with a Xigmatek SD1283 Mombo : Gigabyte 970a-UD3
Memory: 8 Gb Gskill Ripjaw 1333mhz Video: 9600Gt (Yes i know....) Hard drive: 500gb seagate
Case: Raidmax Smilodon with 530watt ps Screen: 23inch asus 1920x1080 2ms response time.

west0779rw
Offline
Joined: 02/23/2012
Posts: 3

Well I wouldn't push your voltage any higher if you cooler can't keep up. Right now when I'm at idle my CPU temperature is @ 33C and full load is @ 51C. What are you temps at now?

Chaosrender
Offline
Joined: 10/05/2011
Posts: 6

My idle temps are at 35c but i had to remove the pull fan because my rear exhaust fan decided to die this morning. voltage is set to 1.475

Update: Motherboard just came out with a bios update going to try to hit 4ghz tonight after work and see if it helps.

Creepypig
Creepypig's picture
Offline
Joined: 03/06/2012
Posts: 10

You have a big enough cooler to OC it. But I use Intel, because it has lower temps at OC'd than AMD.

jdelgado
Offline
Joined: 06/24/2012
Posts: 1

I have nearly the same config as you do...

What are your exact bios settings... I would really like to overclock to the same that you have but am new at this and would like so see step by step in the advanced bios settings how you got to the 4.3...

MY System Specs
CASE - AZZA Hurrican 2000 CSAZ-2000 Black SECC Japanese Steel ATX Full Tower
MOBO - ASUS Crosshair IV Extreme AM3 AMD 890FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Extended ATX AMD Motherboard
CPU - AMD Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition Thuban 3.3GHz, 3.7GHz Turbo Socket AM3 125W
Cooler- Noctua NH-D14 120mm & 140mm SSO CPU Cooler
RAM - 1 x G.SKILL Ripjaws X + Turbulence II Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133 (PC3 17000
GPU - 2 x EVGA 02G-P3-1386-KR GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI
PSU - BFG Tech EX-1000 1000W ATX12V 2v.2/EPS12V v2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified
HDD - 2 x SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ 1TB 7200 RPM SATA
OS - Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit 1-Pack for

CASE: AZZA Hurrican 2000 CSAZ-2000 MOBO: ASUS Crosshair IV Extreme CPU:AMD Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition Thuban 3.3GHz Cooler: Noctua NH-D14 120mm & 140mm SSO CPU Cooler RAM:G.SKILL Ripjaws X + Turbulence II Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133 (PC3 17000 GPU:2xEVGA GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 2GB GDDR5 PSU:BFG Tech EX-1000 1000W HDD: 2 x SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ 1TB 7200 RPM SATA OS:Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

Razz0r
Razz0r's picture
Offline
Joined: 06/17/2012
Posts: 28

A friend of mine has a 1090T and it have it at 4ghz with 1.5V and is running with 1.5V from about 3 months and nothing happend , he have good cooling too , his cpu cooler is Cooler Master V10, and 1.5V is set in bios in cpu-z is about 1.47 on full load, and its stable he did 2 hours prime 95 test.

matacks
matacks's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/16/2011
Posts: 49

Ya I have the 1090t and messed around a bit with overclocking. I thought everything was fine until I got a few really nasty crashes while gaming. I'm not sure what the problem was because I checked the temps and they seemed fine.

I have the black edition with unlocked multiplers so all I did was crank the cpu ratio up to 19x or 20x, then raised the voltage a bit. Dont remeber exactly but was following instrutions I had seen somewhere.

I've seen a youtube vid explaing how to overclock the 1090t without adjusting the muliplier but a more complicated way. I may try that. Also I heard the memory controller doesnt like if your running 4 DIMMS at a fast speed like 1600. I think its better to only run 2 Dimms if your going for 1600. Otherwise 4 DIMMS should be no higher than 1333. This is just something I read about the 1090t's memory controller being not the best. I cant give more details about it other than that as I dont know all the technical stuff regarding the memory controller.