A good air cooler for overclocking a Phenom 955

10 replies [Last post]
Johny-47
Johny-47's picture
Offline
Joined: 04/09/2010
Posts: 95

Hello I want to buy a new CPU air cooler to overclock my Phenom 955 to about 3.6Ghz(it has to stay below 60c I've heard) my room temperature is quite cool, my case is a CM Scout(Mid Tower) and my budget is around £40 but any cheaper is great if it still performs well.

"Maximum, Game".

Il Metallurgico
Il Metallurgico's picture
Offline
Joined: 03/28/2010
Posts: 36

arctic freezer xtreme )rev.2 ;

Desktop: CM 690 | Corsair 650HX | Asus P7P55D | Intel Core i5-750 (3.61GHz - 180x20, 1.21V core, 1.16V IMC) | Arctic Freezer Xtreme Rev.2 | Ati Sapphire HD4670 (GPU: 790MHz, RAM: 870MHz) | Corsair Dominator 4GB DDR3 1.6GHz CL8 (1.8GHz, CL9 1T) | WD 500GB Caviar Blue SE16 & Caviar Green SE32 | Creative Audigy 2 ZS | HP w2007v 20" | Logitech X-530 | Logitech S510 + MediaPlay | Windows 7 Ultimate
Laptop: Packard Bell EasyNote V (WD Scorpio 80GB + Seagate Momentus 50GB, Windows 7 Ultimate)
Notebook: Asus UL30A | Asus EEE PC 1201N
Smartphone: HTC Legend | Eten Glofiish X650

Johny-47
Johny-47's picture
Offline
Joined: 04/09/2010
Posts: 95

Thanks for the reply, I'll check that out now, you have a nice PC setup except the GPU, 4670? =P

 

And how do you show your PC details under your comments etc?

Tiv
Tiv's picture
Offline
Joined: 08/12/2009
Posts: 3584

ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 64 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - Retail

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835185125&Tpk=freezer%2064

There is also the water coolers.

CoolIT Systems ECO and Corsair H50

I sleep fine at night knowing we are banning people who deserve it.  Tivon
Don't test my skills, I was trained by myself! Check out my Gaming Videos!

Johny-47
Johny-47's picture
Offline
Joined: 04/09/2010
Posts: 95

Thanks, I had a look at the Arctic Cooling 64 Pro, it looks ok but I have a similar one right now to that and the watercoolers CoolIT ECO & the Corsair H50 are over £60 on UK web stores etc.

crimson117
Offline
Joined: 02/15/2010
Posts: 68

i have a thermaltake blue orb ii cpu cooler cooling my phenom ii x4 955 running at stock 3.2ghz. my temps in the winter in England are under 43C at load in the summer they are under 48C at load. my case is the xblade silver a very cheap mid sized tower. i have 1 80mm on the side panel a 1 80mm on the hard drives.   

hope this helps

x-blade silver | ocz stealthxstream 700w | asus m4n72-e | amd phenom ii x4 955 | blue orb ii | 4gb ddr2 800mhz | hd 5770 | 250gb hdd | 500gb hdd | logitech x-240 | Razer Lycosa | ocz equilizer | razer goliathus mouse mat | Philips 230C1 | Windows 7 ultimate 64 bit

Il Metallurgico
Il Metallurgico's picture
Offline
Joined: 03/28/2010
Posts: 36

the extreme rev.2 is a lot bigger than the 64 pro.. 

ps: i have a 4670 because i play games for 1/2 hours in a week.. so it's not so important for me =P btw it's a great card =)

to show your details you have to go to your user control panel (follow the link on the e-mail sent after registration) and put them manually..

Johny-47
Johny-47's picture
Offline
Joined: 04/09/2010
Posts: 95

Thanks for your suggestion crimson117 , I was looking at the blue orb before but it looked like it covered up the memory slots, is that true? if it doesn't I'll give it another look.

Johny-47
Johny-47's picture
Offline
Joined: 04/09/2010
Posts: 95

@Il Metallurgico I looked at the extreme, I was looking at the wrong one =P the extreme rev. 2 you mentioned I found a good price for it under my budget but are you sure it will fit in the CM Scout case because it looks really tall.

Il Metallurgico
Il Metallurgico's picture
Offline
Joined: 03/28/2010
Posts: 36

Johny-47 wrote:

@Il Metallurgico I looked at the extreme, I was looking at the wrong one =P the extreme rev. 2 you mentioned I found a good price for it under my budget but are you sure it will fit in the CM Scout case because it looks really tall.


here
's the specs and the right extreme =P 131mm high..
now i have it in my CM 690, but before i had it in a general mid-tower case without problems ;)
maybe you have to remove the left panel higher fan..
 

 

Mr Ducktape
Offline
Joined: 04/10/2010
Posts: 3

Hi, I have that CPU oc'd to 3,6GHz, I use the Schyte Mugen 2 and the temps are about 39 ºC right now (idle) and maybe 43 ºC at full load.

But that thing is quite huge (that's what she said) :·P