Project: 4550z

51 replies [Last post]
DraginElite

hi all :)

sorry I hadn't posted here sooner about this mod/build today until my wife reminded me that I could build a log here also :)

most of this will be copy and paste from the other locations i have posted this build at

Start of Copy/Paste

Hi folks ....

First time for me to document a Build.

This build is going to involve the HP Pavilion 4550z (or at least using just the case)

It may take me awhile to do this build as I currently work in Retail and will do it when funds become available to me so please be patient as it comes together.

What I hope to accomplish with this build is ALOT of power in a very small space.

My current plans for this involves the following

ASUS Rampage II Gene i7 uATX mobo (may change as tech changes so quickly)
i7 920
6Gb triple channel ram
2 GTX 295's ... yes I said 2 of them
PSU's - still working on that part - have some ideas but need to iron them out first

here's some pics of the rig as it sits ..... did I forget to mention that I had aquired thie computer for free? hehe

So I would also like to get some suggestions as to what colors to paint this and what other hardware I could possibly add to it.

I will post updates as they become available

UPDATE: 1

UPDATE: Disassembly

These pics are of the disassembly so far. As you can tell yeah it's going to get very cramped very quickly. I still have yet more to do in the way of cleaning and removing the panels by the rivits as it will be totaly taken apart to have areas fiddled with and slightly rearanged.

when this rig is totally done then I get to test it's performance :)

Enjoy

Case cover removed - Will eventually cut the sides off where they meet the top to make them more easily removable for future repairs - so in essence 1 piece will be become 3

yup ... it needs a serious bath

some pieces removed

nice thing for removable motherboard trays :)

Case minus some more parts

some surround shots of the mostly bare case