Suitable PSU for nvidia GTX 680 2-Way SLI

7 replies [Last post]
nikenx
Offline
Joined: 07/26/2012
Posts: 4

Hello,

I'm about to but two GTX 680's, and I'm having boroblem finding a suitable power supply for it.

So, can you help me find one?

My PC specs:

CPU - Intel Core i7 3770 3.4Ghz s1155 8MB, GPU Core, Tray
CPU's Cooler - Scythe Katana 3 CPU Cooler
Motherboard - Gigabyte X79-UD3 s2011 Core i7, Intel X79, DDR3 2133Mhz, 4xPCI-E
Memory - G.Skill Ripjaws-X 4x8GB DDR3 1600Mhz PC3-12800 Kit CL9-9-9
GPU's - x2 Zotac GTX680 2GB GDDR5 DX11 2xDVI HDMI DP PCI-E( 2-Way SLI setup)
Hard Drive - Seagate 2TB Barracuda 7200RPM 64MB Sata III ST2000DM001
SSD - Crucial m4 2.5'' 128GB SSD MLC SATA III CT128M4SSD2CD
Burner - LG DVD±RW GH24NS x24 Black SATA OEM
Case - Thermaltake Level 10 GT Full Tower Series Black Case (No PSU)

Hope you can help ;)

Prophet4NO1
Offline
Joined: 09/13/2010
Posts: 196

I am using a Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 800 watt. Works great.

Prophet4NO1
Offline
Joined: 09/13/2010
Posts: 196

Just don't skimp. Not any 800 watt PSU will do. If you are shelling out $1000+ for two cards, spend $200-300 on a PSU. Unless you find one like mine or an AX series from Corsair on sale for a bit less.

david179057
Offline
Joined: 01/15/2012
Posts: 208

how did you get a i7 3770 to work with a x79 board???

anything over 750 watts should be more than enough

Asus P8P67 Deluxe : i7 2600k : Corsair Vengeance 8 GB 1600
Asus GTX 560 Direct Cu II OC : Corsair H100
Kingston Hyper X 3K 120 GB : WD Caviar Black 1 TB : Windows 7 Home Premium
OCZ ZT 750W PSU : CM 690 II

Prophet4NO1
Offline
Joined: 09/13/2010
Posts: 196

I'm guessing he made a typo. Or is looking at buying that hardware and is unaware that the two have differing sockets.

Malevolence2012
Offline
Joined: 09/28/2012
Posts: 10

Corsair AX 1200 or 1200i is ideal. Remember, key of good PCs is a quality PSU. Corsair maintained a pretty good reputation and I'm a proud owner of Corsair PSU!

Prophet4NO1
Offline
Joined: 09/13/2010
Posts: 196

Yes, the AX 1200 is an awesome PSU, but that is overkill wattage for SLI 680's. am only pulling 700-750 watts from the wall with both cards overclocked and my 2600K @ 5.1Ghz. So, really not needed unless you go to triple cards.

Prophet4NO1
Offline
Joined: 09/13/2010
Posts: 196

Keep in mind, if you are only pulling 50% of the load a PSU can provide, the efficiency is going to be a lot lower than what it's rated at. At least with these PSU's. You want to be around 75% or so most of the time.