Replacing 8800GT with a GTX 460 - FAILURE

14 replies [Last post]
blitzo999
Offline
Joined: 09/24/2010
Posts: 5

I was using an XFX 8800GT 512, and just replaced it with the EVGA GTX 460 768MB. Testing with Modern Warfare 2, and Age of Conan, my framerates actually dropped severely. They weren't great to begin with, but at least playable using the 8800gt, but they are actually performing much worse at the same settings, as low as 10 fps for extended periods. My method of installation was this: I uninstalled the 8800gt drivers first. Then replaced the card. Yes, both power plugs are plugged into the card. I then installed the new drivers from the EVGA support site. Tested the games, horrible results. Then I uninstalled the drivers again, and this time used Driver Sweeper. This time I installed using the drivers from the CD, as well as reinstalling DirectX for the hell of it. No difference, still horrible framerates. I tried installing the beta version of the latest drivers from the Nvidia website, and same results, mostly. For about 10-15 minutes I was getting about 30 fps on Conan after installing the beta drivers, now today it's back to about 10. Modern Warfare is still unplayable as well.

Even though motherboard and processor are pretty ancient, why would I actually be getting worse performance? Shouldn't it at least be equal or better? Everything I read about this card indicated to me that going from the 8800gt to the GTX460 was a huge impovement. Please help!

EVGA GTX460 768mb
Intel core 2 duo 6600 2.4 ghz
Intel DP965LT motherboard
4 gigs ram (3.5 usable), ddr2, unsure of the brand
Coolermaster 450w PSU
Windows 7 ultimate 32 bit

CaptainYouPlanet
Offline
Joined: 09/24/2010
Posts: 45

What resolution are you playing at? Your 32-bit OS is limiting your GPU because it already only detects 3.5GB of your system memory, and that includes VRAM.

i7 2600k | 8GB RAM | eVGA GTX 460 1GB | 640GB HDD | Corsair HX1000 | CM690 II Adv. | Windows 7 64-bit

blitzo999
Offline
Joined: 09/24/2010
Posts: 5

1440 x 900

CaptainYouPlanet
Offline
Joined: 09/24/2010
Posts: 45

That's odd.Your system shouldn't be using over about 400W of power, either, so I wouldn't think the PSU was the problem. You might need to RMA the card.

blitzo999
Offline
Joined: 09/24/2010
Posts: 5

I was afraid of that. I'm waiting on a response from EVGA support. It seems like the card may have even slowed down my windows performance as a whole. Anyway, thanks. Anyone else have any suggestions?

blitzo999
Offline
Joined: 09/24/2010
Posts: 5

I just noticed that while Conan is running, my CPU is going from 75% - 100% maxed out, sometimes maxed fully for a while. I'm sure thats not good. Memory usage is showing about 75-80%. I'm also getting audio clicks and glitches. I don't know if that helps or not.

EL_Gato
EL_Gato's picture
Offline
Joined: 07/08/2009
Posts: 171

I believe the recommended requirement for most new Video cards is at least a 500w psu, also I'm pretty sure the you should be getting the latest drivers from Nvidia.com and not the manufacture.

When people lose sight, they pray for better vision. Even though the path of ignorance was their choice, they believe it to be an outer entity like karma or bad luck - in thus believing an outer cause will cure it. You want change? Stop throwing dirt in your eyes to attain mercy for looking weak.

blitzo999
Offline
Joined: 09/24/2010
Posts: 5

It would be nice if simply replacing the psu would give me decent frame rates. I have a bad feeling there's more to it though. Now I'm starting to get overall windows performance down the tubes.

Mgut
Offline
Joined: 08/12/2010
Posts: 40

Make sure that you have the lateset drivers for that video card, you can diwnload it from their web-site, i had the same problem, and when i downloaded the lateset driver, it worked fine after i installed

CaptainYouPlanet
Offline
Joined: 09/24/2010
Posts: 45

I think the drivers that come with the GTX 460 are the latest ones, since the most recent drivers on Nvidia's site say they add support for that card, so older drivers won't work with it.

cvasquez
Offline
Joined: 04/21/2002
Posts: 102

Drivers is always the cause of problems.
My GTX 295 was having something similar and what I did was updated the drivers as well and that did some magic.


Need For Speed

bobalobmitchell
Offline
Joined: 06/23/2010
Posts: 7

Sorry for late reply, is it possible you know the BIOS version your on currently?

I read that BIOS Version 1676 for your motherboard has fix

"Fixed issue where system would run slow with 4 GB of RAM and
certain PCI Express Graphics cards."

(Source: http://downloadmirror.intel.com/17520/eng/MQ_1761_ReleaseNotes.pdf on page 9.)

Animanga04
Animanga04's picture
Offline
Joined: 09/08/2010
Posts: 33

id suggest maybe putting the 8800gt back in and see if it runs better if so its prob the psu might not have enough juice to run ur system and the video card

drake2231
drake2231's picture
Offline
Joined: 06/17/2009
Posts: 51

Do you have a friend with a system you can test your video card in? That would be the quickest way to trouble shoot your gpu problem. If runs fine in another system I would first guess youu PSU is not strong enough. After that I would guess your processor/mb/ram are bottlenecking but it should be no where near the problems you are having. Also, is your computer clean? Check running processes and make sure you don't have 1 million viruses taking your lunch money. Check your cpu temperature while you are at it, if it is running at 100% make sure you aren't overheating it.

Custom Cooler Master HAF 932 case  ||  EVGA X58 SLI LE Mobo  ||  i7 920 D0 @ 4.2Ghz  ||  Custom Water Cooling System on CPU  ||  6 gigs Kingston Hyper-x 12800 ddr3 ram @ 1605Mhz  ||  XFX 5870 GPU  ||  Corsair HX1000 watt psu  ||  1TB Western Digital Black HDD/32mg buffer  || Creative - Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Sound Card ||   Razer Arctosa keyboard  ||  Razer Death Adder 3200 dpi mouse  ||  24" 1920 x 1200 Gateway monitor ||  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit OS  ||  3dMark06 25849  ||  See the project happen http://www.youtube.com/user/massacre2231

Tracer
Offline
Joined: 09/11/2003
Posts: 15

I had the same issue after I upgraded My Vid Card from an 8800 GTX to a GTX 260. I upgraded my PSU to a 750 watt, I went into my MSCONFIG in Win 7 and made sure all 4 CPU's were being used, and upgraded My drivers obviously. Playing Age of Conan, which is hell on Systems, it fixed My issue.

I'm curious, what size Monitor do You use?