I intend to change my Intel Core Duo T2050 notebook CPU for a T2500, how large would the performance increase be?

12 replies [Last post]
marijanovic
marijanovic's picture

Hi,

I have a notebook with this main components:
Intel Core Duo T2050 1600MHz 2MB cache FSB 533MHz
2x 1GB DDR2 667MHz KingMax operating at 533MHz becouse of the CPU
ATI Radeon Mobility x1600 256MB
Hitachi 100GB 5400rpm 16MB S-ATA
14.1" 1280x800 AU Optronics
Windows 7 Proessional 32-bit

I intend to purchase a used Intel Core Duo T2500 (2000MHz 2MB cache FSB 667 MHz). The RAM would work at 667MHz too.
How large would the performance increase be?

I have a far stronger PC (Phenom II 550BE unlocked to B50 X3, 4GB od DDR2 800MHz, Radeon HD 4730, ...) at home, but I use the notebook most of the time (becouse I'm a student and the town I'm living in while I go to the university is about 130Km from my home).

I'm a gamer, playing CoD4:MW online mostly. My framerate goes from 20 to 90 at the lowest details (1280x800 resolution) but the framedrops iritate me the most. Would I get an adequate performance increase that would enable me to play CoD4 with a more stable framerate and more frames per second?

Thanks in advance. With greetings from Croatia,

Ivan Marijanovic

[center]My YT chanel | My PC | My Laptop | Mob: Samsung Galaxy Ace GT-S5830

hnkftalnot

Sorry but no, just a 400 MHz speed increase on the CPU will not justify the purchase of another laptop. It's the same CPU so overclocking would be a more interesting possibility. Also another 133 MHz on the RAM is negligible for gaming. If you can sell your current laptop then MAYBE it's an upgrade, but you will not see a big difference in games between those two anyway.

Try lowering your gaming resolution, that will make a much greater difference.

marijanovic
marijanovic's picture

You did not understand, I will buy the CPU only, not an other laptop. The CPU for 200 Kuna (~35$ ~27€).