GTX 460 on a PCI-E 1.0 mobo?

8 replies [Last post]
Gravite
Offline
Joined: 07/08/2007
Posts: 4

I am gonna SLI 2 GTX 460s on a SLI compatible PCI-E 1.0 board. I was wondering will this work?

Hello

saifz
Offline
Joined: 09/01/2010
Posts: 15

Dont even bother, not gonna work =/

Razear
Razear's picture
Offline
Joined: 12/30/2008
Posts: 1123

Yes it will work. PCIe 2.0 is backward compatible with 1.0 but you won't get the maximum preformance from the cards.

lamboman
Offline
Joined: 07/14/2007
Posts: 4

Razear wrote:Yes it will work. PCIe 2.0 is backward compatible with 1.0 but you won't get the maximum preformance from the cards.

This isn't correct. Current graphics cards do not even saturate a 16x PCI-E 1.0 slot, let alone a 2.0. In fact, they don't even saturate an 8x slot.

undeadkingpr
undeadkingpr's picture
Offline
Joined: 04/21/2009
Posts: 511

lamboman wrote:Razear wrote:Yes it will work. PCIe 2.0 is backward compatible with 1.0 but you won't get the maximum preformance from the cards.

This isn't correct. Current graphics cards do not even saturate a 16x PCI-E 1.0 slot, let alone a 2.0. In fact, they don't even saturate an 8x slot.
You are incorrect.
A GTX 295 or very high performance card WILL lose performance if you put it into x8 or a pci-e 1.0 especially during rendering when the full ability of the gpu can be used.

@University rig-Haf 922-i7 920- ASUS GENE MB- 6gb OCZ ddr3 1600-GTS 250- Acer 23'-ocz 700w psu-Altec expressionist bass speakers-LG dvd multi drive-Rosewill media reader

lamboman
Offline
Joined: 07/14/2007
Posts: 4

In gaming situations, the effect is minimal: http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/NVIDIA/GTX_480_PCI-Express_Scaling/1.html

In other situations, the results might be different. Sorry for not making myself clear!

Gravite
Offline
Joined: 07/08/2007
Posts: 4

Ok guys I finally got everything set up. Overclocked my CPU to 3.2ghz and stuff. But I've tested the SLI video card with just cause 2 benchmark and the result is just bad. The FPS didn't increase by much by rather by around 9 fps. I was getting around 21 fps with 1 GTX 460 and then with SLI I was getting around 30 FPS. This is a really small gain. My CPU, Ram and HD are bottlenecking me big time.

This guy also has 2x 768mb gtx 460 but his fps almost double mine in SLI. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uUdmT9MP5dg
The only different is that his video cards are overclocked but that shouldn't double my performance.

undeadkingpr
undeadkingpr's picture
Offline
Joined: 04/21/2009
Posts: 511

well 21 to 30 is not terrible. Likely it is a driver think plus x8 pci-e combination. Just Cause 2 favors ATI graphics cards anyway. At least the game is more playable now.
That cpu is definitely becoming a bottleneck too.

k1llg0r3
k1llg0r3's picture
Offline
Joined: 06/28/2010
Posts: 238

Get an i5, a decent motherboard, and some new ram, for about $450 you can do this, I'm pretty sure the bottlenecks will be all cleared up.

I'd recommend this hardware

Processor
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115215&cm_re=i5-_-19-115-215-_-Product

Motherboard $160
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131407

RAM $80
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820226131

You can re-use the rest of the parts (Hard Drives, Disk Drives, Case) from your current rig