core i3 with ddr-1600

5 replies [Last post]
Tenac
Offline
Joined: 05/09/2011
Posts: 21

Hi all,

I know that every i3 sandy-bridge prozessor has a multiplier lock so you can't overclock it. But is it possible to run a DDR 1600mhz memory on a p67 board with an i3 2120 (which only supports up to 1333 mhz) with full speed?

the pc won't for gaming. Components will be
Motherboard : MSI P67A-C43 (B3)
CPU : Intel i3 2120 socket 1155
Cooler : Scythe Ninja3 passive or EKL Alpenföhn "Brocken" passive
video card : Nvidia G210 passive or any other passive cooling video card
SSD : OCZ Vertex3 120GB
Case : Antec Sonata IV 500w 80+
Memory : G.Skill 4GB DDR3 1600mhz

Complete noiseless (i hope so...)

Dan.M
Offline
Joined: 01/31/2005
Posts: 8

Yes you can run the i3 with the 1600 RAM. You just won't get any benefits out of it unless you overclock. You dont need unlocked multipliers to overclock. It just allows for better overclocking.

Tenac
Offline
Joined: 05/09/2011
Posts: 21

Thanks!
Its just that the 1600 memory isnt that much more expansive and if I want to get a better CPU I don't have to buy a better RAM as well.

Could there be any cooling problems with my setup?

Dan.M
Offline
Joined: 01/31/2005
Posts: 8

Shouldn't be an issue... but just wondering. if you have enough money to buy a SSD. why go with an i3? why not an i5 or an i7.. true quad core instead of hyper-threaded dual core? :S

right now im running the 2600 on 1333 ram.. :p

Tenac
Offline
Joined: 05/09/2011
Posts: 21

I just want to have a complete silent pc with no hdd or fan noises. The i5 and i7s have a TDP of 95 watts (Scythe ninja cools up to 65 watts without the fan) and I don't want to cool my CPU with an orochi^^.
An alternative would be the i7 2600s but its very expensive. The i5s aren't that much better than the i3s, are they? (Keep in mind that I won't use the system for gaming)

Tenac
Offline
Joined: 05/09/2011
Posts: 21

I just thought about building in 2 SAPPHIRE HD 6450 in crossfire mode.
1. How is it possible to run them in crossfire without a crossfire bridge? (at least I cant see a connector on the video card)
2. Could I use the PC for "low quality" gaming?