5770Xfire VS 6870xfire vs7770xfire

7 replies [Last post]
bloodsh0t5
Offline
Joined: 02/23/2012
Posts: 2

Right now i have a 5770 Xfire setup. i need to upgrade and i am thinking of either getting two 6870's to crossfire, or to 7770's to crossfire. But it seems the 7770's are close to the 5770 in performance and i'm not sure what would yield better FPS in games.

so basically, should i stay with what i have(Xfire 5770's), go for 2 6870's, or go with 2 7770's

thanks,

-Ryan

tweaty14
tweaty14's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/21/2012
Posts: 31

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/CPU/2
try this site.
AND im pretty sure it will all fall in price soon.

Allen86
Offline
Joined: 07/08/2008
Posts: 163

I'd go 2x 6870's, personally, I'd pick up the 2GB versions if I was going to crossfire that way you're not bottlnecked by your VRAM at high resolutions.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150563

Q6600 @ 2.4Ghz 4GB DDR2 800Mhz 500GB ATI HD 4850 512mb 22" LCD

bloodsh0t5
Offline
Joined: 02/23/2012
Posts: 2
Allen86
Offline
Joined: 07/08/2008
Posts: 163

They'd do the trick, I was just suggesting what I'd personally do if I was considering crossfire. Those would work just fine.

david179057
Offline
Joined: 01/15/2012
Posts: 208

unless you are running more than a monitor 1 GB will do fine

Asus P8P67 Deluxe : i7 2600k : Corsair Vengeance 8 GB 1600
Asus GTX 560 Direct Cu II OC : Corsair H100
Kingston Hyper X 3K 120 GB : WD Caviar Black 1 TB : Windows 7 Home Premium
OCZ ZT 750W PSU : CM 690 II

Allen86
Offline
Joined: 07/08/2008
Posts: 163

I recommended crossfire 2GB's not only for present games, but it would give overhead for a couple years to come and will be better long term investment. Majority of games now for 1080 resolution and below are fine with 1GB, but there are games that indeed to use more than 1GB even at 1080 on a single monitor. 1GB is just fine, I was suggesting the ideal option when considering crossfiring 6870's, however a year or two down the line, 2GB versions may be hard to find if you ever have a problem with one of the cards.

3dGameMan
3dGameMan's picture
Offline
Joined: 12/31/2000
Posts: 5103

Rodney Reynolds,
Register: http://www.3dgameman.com/user/register