Star Craft II low fps with 5870 - help please

7 replies [Last post]
drake2231
drake2231's picture
Offline
Joined: 06/17/2009
Posts: 51

So I have a i7 920 @ 4gs - 6 gigs ddr3, 5870, and corsair 1000w psu to boot and I am only getting 30-40 fps in single player and even less in multi. I know my netwrok isn't laggy, none of my other online games have this issue. Is anyone else experiencing similar problems with a machine that should obviously run this game much better?

Custom Cooler Master HAF 932 case  ||  EVGA X58 SLI LE Mobo  ||  i7 920 D0 @ 4.2Ghz  ||  Custom Water Cooling System on CPU  ||  6 gigs Kingston Hyper-x 12800 ddr3 ram @ 1605Mhz  ||  XFX 5870 GPU  ||  Corsair HX1000 watt psu  ||  1TB Western Digital Black HDD/32mg buffer  || Creative - Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Sound Card ||   Razer Arctosa keyboard  ||  Razer Death Adder 3200 dpi mouse  ||  24" 1920 x 1200 Gateway monitor ||  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit OS  ||  3dMark06 25849  ||  See the project happen http://www.youtube.com/user/massacre2231

Elmex8
Elmex8's picture
Offline
Joined: 04/23/2009
Posts: 140

Go here, read it and fix it.
http://news.filefront.com/starcraft-ii-melting-pcs-fix-it-quick/
If that doesn't work, check the temps on your video card (use catalyst). If the temps are higher then 45 when not gaming, raise the fan percentage by 5%.

Cooler Master HAF 922 | Intel Core i5 750 stock clock | ASUS P7P55D Deluxe | Corsair XMS3 DDR3 4GB |
Asus HD5770 Cu Core | Corsair H50 Cooler  |Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit | Microsoft Habu |
Logitech Classic Keyboard | Cooler Master 700W Silent Power | ASUS VH236H 23inch |

Dreamer-Boy
Dreamer-Boy's picture
Offline
Joined: 10/21/2008
Posts: 928

Beta version or the retail version?

[SIGPIC]-Dreamer-Boy's[/SIGPIC]

drake2231
drake2231's picture
Offline
Joined: 06/17/2009
Posts: 51

retail

drake2231
drake2231's picture
Offline
Joined: 06/17/2009
Posts: 51

wont that only keep it from getting to high?

Elmex8
Elmex8's picture
Offline
Joined: 04/23/2009
Posts: 140

??

k37chup
k37chup's picture
Offline
Joined: 04/17/2010
Posts: 18

I would try different catalyst drivers - because we all know how shit they are ;)

drake2231
drake2231's picture
Offline
Joined: 06/17/2009
Posts: 51

Found the problem, I was doing a test run with an nvidia card and the physx software had never deleted as was still running. As a matter of fact it took me an hour to get it to delete. I had to boot safe mode and use a deep run driver remover to get the software off. Hmmmm nvidia has really upset me with the way they are handling their products, software, and competition. Well I guess they asked for it - Drake2231 is an ex nvidia fan and is now ATI fanboy.