Sapphire ATI 5670 1gb vs Geforce 9800GT

34 replies [Last post]
your.highness
your.highness's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/27/2010
Posts: 138

Which one is better, i am so confused right now, currently i've palit nvidia 9500gt super 1gb card and am about to upgrade it.

But still i am not sure which card is better, i play games in 1024x640 resolution and my current card makes all the games playable at this resolution, but still you know there is always hunger for better performance at better price so i am upgrading my card in a day or two but cant decide, please please help me.

My System specs are:-

AMD PHENOM X4 2.2GHZ
2GB DDR2 800MHZ RAM (I also have 2GB DDR2 667MHZ RAM which i am not using)
Palit nvidia 9500gt super(1gb)

And i would request you not to advice any other card(or else i'll get even more confused)

Please help me.............................gameplay resolution will be 1024x640 (cuz my monitor's maximum capability is only this, an old fashioned boy lol )

AMD ATHLON-2 X4 635 2.9GHZ/2GB DDR-2 800MHZ RAM
SAPPHIRE ATI RADEON 5770/XP SP3 & WINDOWS 7
M683-S2P/Still AMD is a king....

Razear
Razear's picture
Offline
Joined: 12/30/2008
Posts: 1115

5670, DX11 FTW!

your.highness
your.highness's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/27/2010
Posts: 138

By the way, i've already ordered it yesterday night.
I was to order 1gb video card but when i checked the comparison sheet of 1gb vs 512mb i found, i gb card was giving just a lil' stretch in the performance..so i ordered 512mb card.

Let's hope for the best or else i'll be upgrading it again.

I never wanted to buy 9800gt so i opted for it. ;)

Tiv
Tiv's picture
Offline
Joined: 08/12/2009
Posts: 3584

1024 must be an old CRT or small LCD.

AMD PHENOM X4 2.2GHZ (Good enough)
2GB ddr2 800MHZ RAM (aim for 4GB)

100$ ATI 5670 video card is not going to blow your socks off or anything. 5770 would have been better, but the price is higher. Considering the resolution anything would probably work well enough. What games are you playing?

I sleep fine at night knowing we are banning people who deserve it.  Tivon
Don't test my skills, I was trained by myself! Check out my Gaming Videos!

Dj Neta
Offline
Joined: 09/25/2009
Posts: 77

go for the 5770. its defenetly woth the extra $$$ and its way better and way more future proof then the other two.
umm i'd say also upgrade RAM, cuz if you are using Windows7 + 1GB GDDR GPU, the system is gonna take around 2gigs of RAM and there won't be any left for other apps.

Dj Neta =)
Photoshoped i9 Logo

oh, and yah - we are kinnda having fun :)

your.highness
your.highness's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/27/2010
Posts: 138

@Jared Maynard
Yeah it's a 1999 manufactured acer monitor, never thought of changing it, but now it's high time, i am planning to buy 20" dell monitor, most probably by the end of this week, i'll be buying this from the retailer, dont wanna pay for extra freight charges :P :P ...and abt games Just finished bioshock 2 and mass effect 2, and i wanna play it again in very high setting :D

@Dj Neta
i've already ordered it......naah not interested in windows 7 right now, i don't even use vista, i installed it once just to play halo 2 ;)

your.highness
your.highness's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/27/2010
Posts: 138

But still what do you say of the comparison between these two cards>5670 vs 9800gt???

Can i get benchmark video or report of these two in comparison chart??

Dj Neta
Offline
Joined: 09/25/2009
Posts: 77

here are some charts:
http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/282168-15-5670-9800gt
take in mind that the 9800GT might be just a tiny bit faster but the 5670 supports DX11, consumes less power, more up-to-date, newer drivers and is overclockable (if you have good cooling), therefor i would have gotten the HD5670!

your.highness
your.highness's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/27/2010
Posts: 138

yeah, yeah i've already seen this chart.

i am just waiting for my 5670 512mb card. 8D :)

Dj Neta
Offline
Joined: 09/25/2009
Posts: 77

aight, N-joy playa :D

your.highness
your.highness's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/27/2010
Posts: 138

:D

your.highness
your.highness's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/27/2010
Posts: 138

My current card's validation http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/dmaa3/ :)

your.highness
your.highness's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/27/2010
Posts: 138

Read the complete article http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1187/1/

don't forget to check the difference between 1gb version and 512mb version of Sapphire Ati 5670 :)

your.highness
your.highness's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/27/2010
Posts: 138

i assume it's not a bullshit ;)

Dj Neta
Offline
Joined: 09/25/2009
Posts: 77

lol its a cowshit :P

your.highness
your.highness's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/27/2010
Posts: 138

hmm....i dont think it's gonna be any kind of shit!!:davie:

Dj Neta
Offline
Joined: 09/25/2009
Posts: 77

so bull on its own... standing around at the farm doing nothing, looking cool and staring at a cow 8) aight? :)

Tiv
Tiv's picture
Offline
Joined: 08/12/2009
Posts: 3584

Going off topic?

your.highness
your.highness's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/27/2010
Posts: 138

:D lol ....back to the topic..

does 5670 has aegia physix???? 8)

Dj Neta
Offline
Joined: 09/25/2009
Posts: 77

no. but it dose have an engine that dose similar things. its just not called Physx cuz thats Nvidia's engine name.
but you can run most Physx games (such as NFS Shift) with ATI cards.

your.highness
your.highness's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/27/2010
Posts: 138

why not all????? :angry:

can't we run all games with good cards???? :angry:

Tiv
Tiv's picture
Offline
Joined: 08/12/2009
Posts: 3584

You don't need aegia physix to play games.

your.highness
your.highness's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/27/2010
Posts: 138

Oh i see :) , thank god!! 8)

by the way could you please tell me, if my motherboard will support this sapphire 5670 512mb????? it requires pcie16x2.0 slot and i've old pcie 16 slot only. :(

my motherboard is Asus M2N68-AM

Pls pls tell, cuz tomm i'll get my card, i've just recieved a call from the shipping company. :D

Tiv
Tiv's picture
Offline
Joined: 08/12/2009
Posts: 3584

And if I told you it would not work is there anything you could really do about it? lol

I think it's backwards compatible.

your.highness
your.highness's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/27/2010
Posts: 138

:( :::::::::::::::: ?? u think?? y u're not sure :o

your.highness
your.highness's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/27/2010
Posts: 138

Is it going to be waste of money??? do i need to buy new motherboard???? :angry: :(

Tiv
Tiv's picture
Offline
Joined: 08/12/2009
Posts: 3584

Can never be 100% sure, sometimes they do not work. PCI-Express 2.0 video cards do work with PCI-Express 1.0 motherboards. But I don't know what your board is, only says 16X, could be 1.1 for all I know.

your.highness
your.highness's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/27/2010
Posts: 138

Palit nvidia geforce 9500gt super(1gb) works.

your.highness
your.highness's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/27/2010
Posts: 138

My motherboard is : Asus M2N68-AM

your.highness
your.highness's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/27/2010
Posts: 138

i got my card yesterday and it f***** my psu :X

so i bought 600watts psu today and now i am not able to install anything from it's cd, it restarts again and again. :angry:

your.highness
your.highness's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/27/2010
Posts: 138

By the way let me tell you, stalker call of pripyat looks amazingly beautiful in "full enhanced dynamic lightening" :P