Metro 2033 lockups /:-(

8 replies [Last post]
eire1274
eire1274's picture
Offline
Joined: 09/12/2003
Posts: 1135

I picked up a copy of Metro 2033 as part of the Humble Bundle pack on Steam, but it's giving me fits.

The game played awful on the initial settings (1680x1050, high textures, 4xAA), so I tweaked it lower (1980x1080 [my monitor's actual resolution], normal textures, and AAA), and it has been playing fine, nice and smooth. Sort of.

I got to the third chapter, and the game freezes CONSTANTLY here. Usually as the bodies start to pile up.

I chopped the video down to 1280x768, low textures, and the freeze persists.

Hardware for the system is:

AMD Athlon X2 6000+ (3.1Ghz dual)
4Gb memory
HIS built AMD HD 4670 AGP 1Gb
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2
Windows Vista (HP) 64-bit, totally updated
AMD CCC 12.1 AGP Hotfix

I tried the 12.6 pack (the latest for the dead AGP series) and it has no driver for the HD 4670.

This system is WAY past it's prime, I know, and is due to be replaced, so please NO HARDWARE UPGRADE RECOMMENDATIONS. I have seen weaker machines play this game fine, I just would like to know if anyone else has had a similar issue and managed to get around it.

Nick McDermott

eire1274
eire1274's picture
Offline
Joined: 09/12/2003
Posts: 1135

Cancel that. Problem solved. Switched from DX10 to DX9. Took a (minor) drop in framerate, but no more lockups.

Bummer. It was prettier in DX10.

Nick McDermott

Hellsrage
Offline
Joined: 05/17/2012
Posts: 19

Ah Metro 2033, the game caused a lot of problems for me and friends and like you my hardware isn't amazing especially my GPU, for a while there I thought it might actually break it. XD

But the game is just amazing, I originally had it for Xbox but a glitch in the game screwed me over so I just traded it, biggest mistake of my life. Finishing it on PC was pretty awesome I can't wait to play it at higher settings.

eire1274
eire1274's picture
Offline
Joined: 09/12/2003
Posts: 1135

Yeah, configuration is usually a couple tries and you're good, but this was just awful! Looks like lots of people had the same bug, but not everyone did.

Well, I guess it's my fault, anyway! Time to upgrade!

Nick McDermott

Hellsrage
Offline
Joined: 05/17/2012
Posts: 19

Time to upgrade indeed, I finally made enough money to get a 7870, then they stopped giving away a free copy of Farcry 3 with it, literally the day I was going to order. =/

Thankfully I was able to get a little more for a 7950 which came with Farcry 3 and some other games, just gotta wait for it to get here, the wait always sucks....

I'll be going from a 6670 to a 7950, I expect a world of difference when it comes to performance.

eire1274
eire1274's picture
Offline
Joined: 09/12/2003
Posts: 1135

The HD 7950 is on my list, too. Hopefully February or March I can swing a chunk of money large enough for a new system.

Nick McDermott

Hellsrage
Offline
Joined: 05/17/2012
Posts: 19

Nice hope it works out for ya, just got my 7950 setup.

omegadoom13
Offline
Joined: 09/20/2011
Posts: 53

I downloaded a copy of Metro 2033 to my sister's computer yesterday. I haven't found the time yet to play it but I'm definitely looking forward to it. Her computer is running a Radeon HD5830. Hopefully, I won't have any problems. :)

eire1274
eire1274's picture
Offline
Joined: 09/12/2003
Posts: 1135

I'm way below you in GPU power, and the game ran wonderfully (after I figured it out). Cheers!

Nick McDermott